Top taxpayers to have dinner with PM Imran

VIAIrshad Ansari
SOURCEThe Express Tribune
  • 4

ISLAMABAD:  The Federal Board of Revenue (FBR) has compiled a list of the country’s top 50 taxpayers for the year 2018 to be invited for a dinner with Prime Minister Imran Khan.

A summary for the dinner to be hosted by the prime minister has been sent to the finance ministry. The list includes large taxpaying companies and individual taxpayers.

The top tax paying companies include the OGDCL, PPL, PSO and large banks like HBL, MCB, UBL, National Bank, Silk Bank as well as other companies, including cellular phone and telecom firms.


The heads of these companies, CEOs or their representatives would attend the dinner with the prime minister.

The individual taxpayers include Syed Shahzad Hassan Shah, Arif Habib, Hassan Mansha, Muhammad Yasin Malik, Syed Irshad Ahmed, Wazir Ali Pardhan, Mian Amir Mansha, Babar Ali, Imtiaz Hussain, Rehan Hussain, Abdul Ghaffar Memon, Malik Shahid and others.

Also Read: Finance Minister for facilitating tax payers

Sources in the ministry of finance said that the basic purpose of organising a dinner with the premier was to encourage taxpayers and seek their recommendations in policymaking for enhancing tax revenue. The practical recommendations would be made part of the budget. The premier after taking oath had announced that he would hold a dinner with the country’s top 50 taxpayers every year.

Several ministers, including Finance Minister Asad Umar, State Minister for Revenue Hammad Azhar, Minister for Planning and Development Khusro Bakhtiar, Adviser to PM for Commerce Abdul Razak Dawood, the FBR chairman and his team and the heads of the investment board, SECP and other organisations will also attend the dinner.

According to documents available with Daily Express, the list of the top taxpayers has been sent to the finance ministry.

The ministry has been requested to seek time from the PM for the event.

(This news/article originally appeared in The Express Tribune on February 6th, 2019)

Facebook Comments